Return to the Herbs Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Chives & aphids

Posted by sallyforth_vic VIC Aust (My Page) on
Wed, Apr 19, 06 at 18:16

Sigh, I just had to throw out my beautiful and (previously) thriving chives and garlic chives due to a massive aphid infestation. I should have nipped it in the bud earlier, but was flat out with work & study, and kept thinking 'I'll do it later'. Anyway, by the time 'later' arrived, the chives were smothered by aphids and beyond help. Well, I suppose I could have tried cutting them right back, but to be honest, the quantities of aphids were so awful I just threw the lot in the bin. It was a real shame, as I have been nurturing those chives for 4 years, and this was the best & healthiest year ever.

Well, I will start a new batch this year. If aphids appear again, would pyrethrum be okay (on an edible herb) or should I use other methods?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Chives & aphids

Try to be grateful! The chives were only doing their job. They ATTRACT aphids away from other plants, like roses.

No need to get rid of the chives. Get rid of the aphids instead:

Mix together 1 teaspoon Condy's crystals, 1 tablespoon Epsom salts and 1 bucket water, and use to spray plants regularly. Once a week, tip a few cups of the mixture around the base of the plant. Discontinue once the aphids have gone.
OR
Place sheets of shiny aluminium foil around the base of a plant it will reflect the sunlight and deter aphids by blinding them.
OR
Trap aphids in a bowl of detergent containing a few drops of yellow food colouring in it. Aphids are attracted to yellow, and they will land in the dish and drown.

Or simply give them a blast with the hose.

o

I have never had chives attract aphids.
The only thing that ever attacked them were thrips
(They look like little black aphids)
Place a chive over a rose infested with aphis(green) and the aphis will go away

o