Return to the Cornucopia Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
How do you know when to pick apples?

Posted by nettlerose Canberra ACT (My Page) on
Wed, Mar 9, 05 at 3:13

I am a novice apple grower and for the first time I actually have apples on my two trees that don't have codling moth. They are Granny Smith and Lady Williams which are later apples (May/June) but I was wondering how do you tell when they are ready to pick? It is not like a nectarine or other fruit that you can feel, or is it? I know I have a couple of months but thought I would get in early as some look ready to pick now size wise.
Eve

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: How do you know when to pick apples?

When they start falling on the ground and your dog is eating them :-)

o

That's not as silly as it sounds. As a kid, our neighbours had apple trees and when they started looking close, we'd start sampling them until they ripened enough to eat, then gorge ourselves. If caught of course, we got into lots of trouble but back then we were young, quick and agile, and could scamper without being seen. Most of the time! But the owners of the trees started picking when the first few fell.

o

Thats my problem ozmantis. We don't have a dog. :)

There is a big granny on one of them and it looks ready to me but in theory they shouldn't be ready unitl May. I know this seems like a super dumb question but I really have no idea. I guess trial and error is the answer. Some little undeveloped ones fell onto the ground a few months ago but they were not ready they must have been drought stressed.

Thanks guys.

o

Nettlerose, we have the same problem here. Trial and error. If the apples are not supposed to be ripe until May, give them more time. We have a Granny Smith here which looks ready, too, but that's very deceiving. If you must, take the apple in your hand and give it a little tug. If it doesn't come off, it's not ready. It should only be a little tug, not pulling like mad. :)

o